You Are Not Alone

This is the post excerpt.

Having a mental illness can feel like you’re living in hell. You wonder if there’s a way out, and if there’s anyone around who can help you.I know because I’ve been there.

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder two years ago.I’m a physician by training and have always been passionate about the field of psychology and psychiatry,  but I didn’t know what hit me when in December 2103  I found myself thinking that I was God, that my phone was being tapped, and that aliens were controlling me.

Mental illness is like that. You don’t see it coming and it’s invisible hand can wreak havoc in your life before it is diagnosed.

Even though I’m a doctor, I still find it hard to break the silence regarding my condition. Sometimes I open up in front of close friends but then they don’t know how to treat me, or what to say. Talk of my condition invokes silence and fear.Those who suffer, especially in India, tend to suffer in silence.

If you’re going through hell, I just want to lend out a hand and let you know that you are not alone.

 

post

Leave a Reply

